top of page

Ecclesiastical Region of Umbria


The ecclesiastical region of Umbria, after the changes made to the Italian diocesan structure by the decree of the Congregation for the Clergy of 29 September 1986, currently includes eight dioceses: the metropolitan archdiocese of Perugia-Città della Pieve with the suffragans Assisi-Nocera Umbra-Gualdo Tadino, Città di Castello, Foligno and Gubbio;
the immediate su - biecta archdiocese of Spoleto-Norcia and the immediate subiectae dioceses of Orvieto-Todi and Terni-Narni-Amelia. Geographically it corresponds more or less to the homonymous civil region of central Italy. Only the diocese of Terni includes four parishes, in Configni, Torri in Sabina and Vacone, located in the province of Rieti (Lazio);
the diocese of Orvieto has two parishes in Bolsena, in the province of Viterbo (also in Lazio) and that of Gubbio borders, with three parishes located in the municipality of Cantiano, in the province of Pesaro (Marche). Over time, however, the borders of Umbria have undergone many variations, so much so that the same regional identity was lost for many centuries. Formerly the territory of the Umbrians, it was conquered in the western part by the Etruscans and later by the Romans (IV-III century BC) who, with the opening of the Via Flaminia, made it a road junction connecting Rome and the Adriatic. In the imperial period, the eastern part of the Tiber river belonged to the VI Regio (Umbria), which also included, beyond the Apennines, part of the present Marche, while the territories of Perugia and Orvieto, west of the Tiber, were included in the VII Regio (Etruria or Tuscia), and Norcia, east of the Nera river, was aggregated to the IV Regio (Samnium). With Diocletian, Cisappennine Umbria and Tuscia formed a single province, Tuscia and Umbria.

Diocesi Umbria.png
The Artistic / Liturgical Works
bottom of page